Madshus completely dominated the 2011 Vasaloppet!

Defending Vasaloppet champion Jörgen Brink (Madshus) won the 2011 Vasaloppet in an amazing race effort. A pole break cost the Swede a lot of time, but with his incredible strength and determination, as well as super fast skis, Brink was able to catch back up to the lead group of four. In the last 500 meters, nobody could beat Jörgen Brink this day.

“I had an incredible race. To win the Vasaloppet is something you dream about, and to win it twice is incredible,” Brink said to Swedish television after his race.

The entire podium was a Madshus party: Madshus Marathon team racer Stanislav Rezac (CZE) took second place just a second behind Brink, and teammate Jerry Ahrlin (SWE) finished third. With Rikard Andreason (SWE) in fifth, Madshus has four athletes in the top five – totally dominating the 2011 Vasaloppet. 

Madshus’ increased focus on ski marathon racing has proven a great success. With the incredible Vasaloppet triumph this weekend, Madshus athletes have won almost all the races in the FIS Ski Classics series this season: Marcialonga (Jerry Ahrlin), König Ludviglauf (Jerry Ahrlin), and Tartu Ski Marathon (Jerry Ahrlin). Madshus Ski Classics podiums also include Madshus Marathon team racers such as Stanislav Rezac and Susanne Nyström. Madshus and our Marathon team athletes are now looking ahead to the Norwegian Birkebeiner March 19 and the final Ski Classic event at Norefjell in the beginning of April.